The Tripping Point In Leadership

17 04 2015

51gGJ3udJ8L._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_You know you are reading a great book when more things are underlined than not. The Tripping Point In Leadership: Overcoming Organizational Apathy is just that book.  Prior to this reading, my thought of an apathetic person was a sluggard who had no ambition and didn’t care about anything. After reading this book I was shocked to learn that at times in my life, I was that “sluggard!”

Author David Byrd’s definition of apathy in Leadership is the natural, human instinct, common to us all, that consistently encourages us to seek a comfort zone in which nothing ever changes. Wow! How many times in my life have I sought out that comfort zone? Once I became aware that apathy was a natural human instinct common to us all and not just the lazy tree sloth, I could begin to contend with the thinking that has been the tripping point in my leadership growth of my organizations

Like gravity, apathy will take over in us and our organization leading to decline unless a consistent counterbalance is put in place to attack the thinking that leads to stagnation, eventually leading to a fall.  Byrd gives four powers created in our personal design to combat this natural growth of weeds in our thinking that lead to apathy.

Choice – In our attitude, action, and accountability.

Vision – Without a clear picture of future growth we are content with the past.

Attraction – We boost the energy in ourselves and others by being more attractive.

Courage – “Emotional courage is your personal, conditioned capacity to respond to all life events with positive actions rather than negative beliefs.”

 

Apathy was never a word I would have thrown on a list as adjectives to describe me. After becoming aware of what the word means to leadership I would have to use it to describe me in the past. Here is the great thing! It describes me in the past. Awareness is the key. Once we are aware something exists we can now take command of how to “pull the weeds” so to speak of our past thinking. I look forward to taking on this battle of apathy together with most of you. For everyone else, there’s always tomorrow.

Steve Leurquin

Actions

Information

4 responses

17 04 2015
stevesager

This book is awesome. I can’t put it down and the author makes this a simple read for anyone looking to get “out of the rut.” The fact that growth, in either one’s personal development or an organization, is a choice on whether we follow our human nature to feel comfortable; explains a lot of why things happen for the good or not so good.

17 04 2015
steveleurquin1

Knowledge is power!

17 04 2015
AdamRossman

I wondered where all the good quotes were coming from! 🙂

18 04 2015
steveleurquin1

This book is filled with them! East to read and apply to your life and business.

Leave a Reply

