What Are You Telling Yourself?

10 11 2014

The story you tell yourself is the most important book you will ever read! For every goal/Dream we want to achieve, there will be 1,000 obstacles that scream in your face, “It’s not worth it!”  We live in a world where so many people do not pursue their passions resulting in mid-life crises and regret when it’s too late because of fear and comfort of the status quo.

If only we could reframe our thinking to know that anything that is worth it will be difficult. Ask any team that wins a championship if all the work was worth it? Ask the mom who birthed her child for 20 hours if the pain was worth it? Ask the teacher who leads a student down the right path through their mentorship, if the 5 years of college and long days were worth it?

The question is, what dream will be worth it in your life that will cause some discomfort now? So many times people give up when they are on the verge of greatness because the story they tell themselves leads them back to comfort and ease.  I encourage you, keep pushing forward because you have greatness inside you and I can’t wait for the world to see it!

With that, here is a video of the story I am telling myself. After watching this tell me this team doesn’t think they can win every game they play. I encourage you, as you are watching, change a few words and when that negative voice creeps into your brain, blast it with the right story.

Enjoy, Steve Leurquin


Actions

Information

6 responses

12 11 2014
teesarossman

Love this video and the blog, Steve! The results are worth the investment!

12 11 2014
ryanblakely1

You can’t watch that video without getting pumped up! Every time I watch that video I get goosebumps and it reminds me everyday that the positive feed we put in our minds determines our results in anything we do. Thanks for the post Steve!!

12 11 2014
ryanblakely1

You can’t watch that video without getting pumped up! Every time I watch that video I get goosebumps and it reminds me everyday that the positive feed we put in our minds determines our results in anything we do. Thanks for the post Steve!!

11 11 2014
Bobbie Knuteson

Awesome blog post Steve!!!!! I am encouraged to reframe the story I tell myself every day!!!!!

10 11 2014
AdamRossman

I heard Orrin Woodward teach that the story we tell ourselves is actually more important than the event that actually occurs. In real life – we only experience the event once. However, as we tell ourselves about the event – we are able to experience the event over and over and over, which in turn has bigger impact on how the even effects our lives.

The “I believe that we will win” chant is fantastic. I have been spending some extra time lately with a really fantastic group of people and I believe that all of them will win too!!!

10 11 2014
AdamRossman

This is *fantastic*!!!

Leave a comment