There Is No Tomorrow

28 09 2012

A few years ago my daughter asked me if I could build her a tree house. “At this time I can not because we are trying to sell our house and I wouldn’t want to build something and then have to leave it”, was the reason I told her. The next year my excuse was that I didn’t have the time because we were running pretty hard for some goals. The next year came and my reasoning switched again to not having a proper tree to put up a good treehouse. My daughter patiently waited.

Then one night I sat up in bed almost in a cold sweat realizing my daughter is not getting any younger. She is 10 years old. In three years she most likely will not care about having a treehouse and in eight years she will be out on her own. The realization hit me because I didn’t want to look back on my time with her and realize I missed out on a father-daughter moment of being the hero to her. This is something her and I can do together and she will have a lifetime memory of what her daddy and her did together back when she was ten and who knows, maybe her kids will someday be able to play in it.

I’m proud to say that we have begun the process of building the treehouse and we are having so much fun doing it together as a family.

You know the real reason why I never started building the tree house? …….I’m not very handy and I had no idea how to start. I was afraid to do something I had never done before and the fear kept me from taking the first step. I wonder how many people in life get to their deathbeds filled with regret because of all the things they never accomplished on account of fear of not knowing how to start?

What goal in your life are you not taking the first step toward because you’re afraid to start. Well guys, I know that if I had never built my daughter a tree house I would have looked back a few years from know with regret knowing I had missed a great parent-child opportunity. Take the first step, you won’t regret it!

I love this clip from Rocky III as a message of don’t put off until tomorrow what you know you want to start today. Be advised, there is some minor swearing around minute 3:50, but the message of “There is not tomorrow!” is one we all need to hear.

Enjoy, Steve Leurquin

Actions

Information

33 responses

21 01 2013
Learning From The Past « Steve Leurquin Excellence in Living

[…] Enjoy, Steve Leurquin […]

30 10 2012
What A Year! « Steve Leurquin Excellence in Living

[…] This past weekend we celebrated the 1 year mark with a huge leadership convention. The amount of recognition was off the charts and this was only the tip of the iceberg! Check out a recent post by LIFE Founder Orrin Woodward as he highlights this amazing event. Enjoy, Steve Leurquin […]

20 10 2012
Shawn Brown

Thank you for the great word of encouragement. This is something that I personally struggle with and need to work on in many ways. I will definitely this to heart and move forward. Before you know it, tomorrow was yesterday and next week in tomorrow.

15 10 2012
Jeremy Pethke

Thank you for helping me hone up on my reflexes! 😉 Thank you for the seminar this weekend… I have been getting reports from all across the team that you touched a lot of people with your story and leadership talk with Jamie this weekend.
God Bless

5 10 2012
Teesa Rossman

Putting things off until tomorrow can relate to all of us in so many ways, but when it comes to your kids, it’s like it puts your procrastination in “real time”, so to speak. The years go by so fast. Thankfully, I have a guy who knows his priorities and he is on a date with our 3 year old daughter this morning. And lucky me, I got to stay home and play some games with our son and read a kids magazine together. You and Jamie are such a great example to us. Thank you, both, for leading by example.

6 10 2012
adamrossman

Isn’t it great to be part of an organization where spouses publicly edify each other and people encourage the positive they see in each other instead of criticizing the negative they see? Teesa is an amazing wife who teaches our kids by example, not just words. She also helps me not to put as much off till tomorrow.
Thank you Steve, for the reminder that there is no tomorrow. Yesterday I took our daughter on a “date” to McDonald’s and then we did a little dream building and listened to a LIFE cd together. A tradition we are trying to create in our family and we are hoping our kids will remember as they grow up.

6 10 2012
steveleurquin1

That is a great tradition! What a great example you are for others to follow both as a husband and a father.

6 10 2012
Steve Sager

Point Man! Way to lead Adam!

6 10 2012
steveleurquin1

There is no tomorrow! Thanks Teesa!

4 10 2012
Valerie Ostic

Steve,
Thank you so much for posting this! What a great reminder to cherish family, face down fears, and live without regrets! You are such a great dad, mentor, and leader!

2 10 2012
Dyke

Hey bud, great topic! I believe you brought up a great subject. Especially with those of us that have kids as well as any other area of life that we may fear the unknown..Thanks for the wisdom. So when do you want to start the treehouse? Tomorrow? lol. keep them coming bud, your great.

1 10 2012
steveleurquin1

I hope you put the earmuffs on!

1 10 2012
Bobbie Lee Knuteson

Steve,
Awesome blog! I can’t wait to see pictures of the tree house! I know you’ll do a great job and have a blast building it with the kids! You’re a great dad!

1 10 2012
steveleurquin1

Thanks Bobbie, us kids at heart will have fun playing in it!

1 10 2012
Chris Brady

Thanks for sharing! We all have stories like this…afraid to tackle something new and unfamiliar…but those are the experiences that probably teach the most lessons. Have fun building that tree house together!

1 10 2012
steveleurquin1

We will. It is an amazing feeling to take on new challenges!

6 10 2012
adamrossman

…and quite a challenge it will be if you plan to make one like the picture above!! 🙂
Can’t wait to see it!

30 09 2012
Bill Eder

Right on Steve: You see tomorrow doesn’t come it’s always TODAY So do it in the now you won’t regret it. Thanks for your leadership. The grandchildren will love the tree house. Trust me grandpas build them too.

Blessings –Bill–

30 09 2012
steveleurquin1

Live each day like it’s your last!

29 09 2012
Kelli Sager

Great post Steve . I know from personal experience that they do grow up fast , and soon you are no longer ” cool ” to hang out with . I have a 20 year old daughter and have many regrets of not taking the time , or simply letting fear get in the way of being silly with my daughter . I remember 1 experience quite vividly . My daughter was in 6th grade basketball & at the end of the year there was a dinner . At the end of dinner the parents played the kids in a few games . Even though she begged me to play , I could not get the courage to go out on the court & just have fun . I was not a good player & was too worried of what others would think . Thank goodness for my husband Steve . He went out there & had a great time with her . Through the Life materials I definitely have more confidence and have my priorities in place , but regret is still there . I applaud you for putting you daughter above you fears !

30 09 2012
steveleurquin1

No Regrets!

29 09 2012
Jammie

This is an awesome post Steve! Hope we will get a chance to see your tree house sometime. I am so thankful for you guys and your leadership – so many men are following and becoming heroes to their wife and children.

30 09 2012
steveleurquin1

We will have to swing from it sometime!

29 09 2012
Steve Sager

The pain of regret vs. the courage to move forward out of one’s comfort zone can be an endless battle.

So many voices from those who are in cemeteries across this country, echo the “thought” that there would be a tomorrow. Thanks Steve for leading your family and overcoming your ‘fear’, by not taking this obstacle to your deathbed and focusing on today for your daughter!!

1 10 2012
steveleurquin1

Your post reminds of the Braveheart speech!

28 09 2012
Mike and Emily Hebbe

Great post S! You have an amazing family and im so excited for the memories you will have from this tree house!! Way to go Champ!!!

1 10 2012
steveleurquin1

You bet E! Can’t wait for the kids to play together in it!

28 09 2012
Bryan A. Kemp

Wow, Great Post Steve! I agree that FEAR of not knowing how has often kept me from venturing into the unknown also. But with the help of this awesome LIFE information and positive association around TEAM, it’s easy to realize that everything we know today was at one time something we didn’t know. Thank You for leading by example! I can’t wait to see the treehouse when it’s finished, I’m sure all your kids will Love it!!

1 10 2012
steveleurquin1

Great point Bryan!

28 09 2012
Kristen Seidl

I like to live by the motto, I would rather regret something I DID DO even when I didn’t think I could than something I DIDN’T DO because I was too afraid. Great post Steve! Keep leading the charge!

30 09 2012
billswisdom

Great motto Kristen. Lead on girl.” Be not afraid ” is a good one as well.
Proud to follow fearless leadership. Bless you.

1 10 2012
steveleurquin1

Right on Bill! She is fearless!

28 09 2012
adamrossman

Talia just watched with me and said, ” Rocky is tough!” Thanks for the inspiration and the constant encouragement!
Good luck with the treehouse. I know you’ll do great.

Leave a Reply

