Mental Fitness Challenge In Your Life

16 05 2012

In April the Founders of LIFE launched the Mental Fitness Challenge (MFC) as a way for people to grow mentally, setting goals growing in a step-by-step toward the life they always wanted to live. In my three plus decades on this earth I have found that those that are most successful are the ones who set goals and challenge themselves to get better on their quest to hitting those goals. The MFC is designed to give people a roadmap to plan a course for those things they always wanted to achieve in their life but maybe started to think impossible.

These LIFE Founders are the best guys to design a program for improving oneself mentally because they have practiced this idea for years before putting this concept out there for others to follow. Here are a few of there examples:

Cluade Hamilton tells the story of how he used mental toughness to stay the course in a very difficult Navy dive school.

Orrin Woodward has many examples of this toughness but the one that sticks out in my head is the process he used for expanding his lungs to stay under water long enough to break a buddy’s underwater swim record.

Chris Brady admits he was outgunned as compared to his classmates while going to college. He developed a system of disciplined study that allowed him to compete with his classmates.

Tim Marks‘s work ethic and discipline helped him go from extreme debt to a seven figure income in thirty-one months.

These are just a few of the stories from the leaders that make up the company that is going to go to one million people and beyond. These guys are also leading many couples mentoring them to challenge themselves mentally to grow in pursuit of reaching there goals and dreams.

So how about you? What are some things that you have done or are doing to challenge yourself to become a better you? Nothing teaches better than a story so let’s hear yours!

Enjoy, Steve Leurquin

Actions

Information

12 responses

17 06 2012
What does it take to be an Overnight Success? « Kristen Seidl – Living an Intentional Life

[…] I love most about the-life-business and the mental fitness challenge is that it allows us to identify the priorities in our life. It […]

29 05 2012
Chris Brady

Steve:

I think you’ve captured the essence of the Mental Fitness Challenge perfectly. It’s about challenging ourselves on a daily basis to get better. However, we are not by ourselves in doing it. We have accountability partners, challenge partners, and now, Challenge Groups to encourage us and keep us on track! It’s the most fun method of self improvement ever! Enjoy!

Chris Brady

20 05 2012
rjfisher1

Your article is great Steve L. Your testimony is amazing Steve S.

As for me, I believe a huge struggle for me was the success I found as a student prior to becoming a part of the LIFE program. In most other venues, all I had to do was cram and I could do great. That is the exact opposite of what it takes to truly become a winner. Thank the Lord for his grace and that others extended it, too because it was a hard realization that the one thing I was good at before was the very thing that was keeping me from being great in any and every other area of life. This cliff note queen had to sit at the bottom of bilevel stairs every night after work (I generally worked at school, coached games, played ball or worked a part time job from 6 am – 10 pm) and force myself to read because anywhere else and it’d be lights out.

As described above, eventually I came to love the information, the changes that were happening because I was truly learning and the mental discipline that could take place and create a slight edge of results in so many areas of life. I had only ever experienced that before physically through athletics. I am so thankful for everything I have learned here. I was so deceived about life, purpose, success and so many other things, but because of this information I am seeking to learn and grow and fulfill what I was designed to do and become. Now off to read šŸ˜‰ .

21 05 2012
steveleurquin1

That is an amazing story! Doing the uncommon for success in all areas of life sets a great example for others to follow. It’s amazing how some people become an overnight success after years and years of hard work and practice following a game plan. Thanks for showing everyone the way.
Steve

21 05 2012
Steve Sager

I absolutely understand that J. Fisher!!! Been there before…crazy stuff we do to ourselves in “trying” to educate our brains from a -speed- aspect vs -actual retention- of the information…great post! šŸ™‚

20 05 2012
Tony Klubertanz

Great post Steve! If you aren’t growing, you are rotting…right? šŸ™‚

20 05 2012
steveleurquin1

Rotten and forgotten! That’s kind of cruel but it’s true I guess.

18 05 2012
johngraff01

Hey Steve, a little turn-about; watching you go from a guy who would get sick to his stomach and sweat profusely prior to speaking and shaking so bad that you couldn’t read what was written on the paper you were holding at a Tuesday night open, to a man of confidence and conviction who can inspire thousands in attendance! Talk about challenging yourself (and in your case, for all to see). So proud of your leadership! Thanks for your example.

18 05 2012
steveleurquin1

Hey now! I resemble those remarks :).

17 05 2012
Steve Sager

When we first started out in the Team/Leadership journey; one of the key statements I kept hearing was “not all readers are leaders, rather all Leaders are readers.” I had not read a book from cover to cover since my junior year in college (yikes!). And to top it off I have a dyslexia and the attention span that is very short (i.e picture a squirrel under tree with 1000+ nuts). As a result, when I started out on this Personal Development program I was at a stalemate, reading vs ignorance.

But my dear friend Gary Severson kept encouraging me to just get into the habit of reading 15 minutes a day. To do this I would have to lock myself in the bathroom, insert earplugs, and take pieces of cardboard and tape them on either side of my eyes (like blinders on racing horses). After several weeks (which felt like eternity, not to mention very embarrassing) I had grasped the hunger of learning again. It was amazing how my ‘excuses’ of not to read, gradually became my greatest ‘reasons’ to read. Furthermore, in the past few years reading the books of educational value from the 8 F’s in the LIFE program; has now become a passion I pursue daily. Reading has become fun and is changing this this old rusty wheel of a brain in the right direction..it needs oil every now and then, but its worth it!

God bless
Steve Sager
Stealth United Forces

17 05 2012
steveleurquin1

Wow Steve that is an amazing testimony! Someone has to be mentally tough to set that kind of game plan and stick to it. Thanks for sharing this example as I think more people need to know that there are others out there that are having struggles in their lives but are putting game plans together to make positive changes in their lives.
Steve

17 05 2012
Steve Sager

“The majority see the obstacles; the few see the objectives….history records the successes of the latter while oblivion is the reward of the former.” J. Maxwell >> This pretty much summed up my past stinken thinking.

Leave a Reply

