What Is Your Goal In LIFE?

3 12 2011

Reading Orrin Woodward’s book Launching a Leadership Revolution it struck me how important it is to have continued hunger for life. In chapter 2 Woodward discusses the importance of having three levels of motivation to that build on each other in order of importance.

Level 1:  Material Success –  Things that you enjoy doing or having that you can pay cash for.

Level 2: Recognition and Respect – Looking for respect from people you respect.

Level 3: Purpose, Destiny, and Legacy – What am I doing with my life?  Believe in your purpose/destiny/legacy and act on it!

I came across this awesome video while looking at another great leader in Team Leadership Mark Huber. There are many quotes in it that get my heart pumping to what it is that I want to give back to this world. But the one that gets me the most comes in the first 2o seconds:

“My brothers, what we do in life, echoes in eternity!”  -Maximus in the movie Gladiator.

I ask you, what will you do to leave your mark? What is your purpose? What is your level three motivator that will echo in eternity?  Enjoy, Steve Leurquin

Actions

Information

16 responses

6 02 2012
Living The Dream « Steve Leurquin Excellence in Living

[…] If you have given up on your dream I encourage you to go find it. It will make you feel alive. Enjoy the journey, Steve Leurquin. […]

20 12 2011
It will take all you have to become all you can be! « Dan Hawkins Leadership and Life

[…] give other people the courage to do the same? I’m glad they chose wisely!  Enjoy the journey, Steve Leurquin  GA_googleAddAttr("AdOpt", "1"); GA_googleAddAttr("Origin", "other"); […]

10 12 2011
Shannon & Kelly McGinley

Hi Steve!

FANTASTIC blog as usual! It’s definitely something I will be returning to again and again. In fact, I think I’ve already watched the video 5 or 6 times! 🙂 One of those times was with a group of my 7th graders. I thought you should know that your influence and leadership is far-reaching and that you are STILL touching the lives of kids in the classroom! I had a 7th grade girl, Skye, ask me for the link to the video. Skye said, “Mrs. McGinley, I want to be able to go watch that video whenever I’m feeling down.” How amazing is that!?!?! A 7th grader!!!! She followed up with me a day later, saying, “I posted that video on my mom’s Facebook. I don’t know if she’s watched it yet, but I hope she does.” This is a girl who is facing some major struggles right now and you should know that the time you took to put this post together made a HUGE difference to at least (and I’m sure more) one 13 year old!!!

Thank you for your unwavering, passionate leadership. We will follow you anywhere and we’ve got your back my friend! What we “do in life, echoes in eternity!”

Love, God bless,
Kelly

10 12 2011
steveleurquin1

Kelly,
Thank you for your post. It’s too bad that a 13 year old girl has any kind of struggles. I am glad that the content is helping. Keep leading the next generation!
Steve

7 12 2011
Mike and Emily Hebbe

Wow, S! That was powerful!!!! Thanks for the shivers!!! Mike has been leading us in awesome bible studies lately and I understand the “Echoes in Eternity” when my whole family squeezes on our couch in the morning and we sing that hymn for that day, how do you explain that feeling! Your video explains the feeling of being in the right place in your life and feeling secure in where you are going!!!

8 12 2011
steveleurquin1

Emily,
Great message of a man who is leading his family!
Steve Leurquin

4 12 2011
Kevin Hamm

Steve,

I love your blogs. I am thinking much about legacy these days and the LIFE organization provides such an opportunity to invest in peoples lives, which ultimately, when the gospel truth is applied, is what leads to eternal legacy. It is great to be in the race with one such as yourself. I look forward to many years ahead should the Good Lord will me to live. Thanks for all you do.

Kevin Hamm

5 12 2011
steveleurquin1

Thanks Kevin,
The investments we make in people’s lives will echo for eternity. Keep serving, God Bless. Steve Leurquin

5 12 2011
Jammie

What you shared about your legacy and purpose at the meeting last night was extremely powerful Kevin.

I couldn’t agree more about Steve’s blog! You have a gift Mr. Leurquin and I am so glad to be on this LIFE journey with all of our families locking arms to run forward and unearth what God has for us here and beyond!

Jammie

5 12 2011
steveleurquin1

Jammie,
The power of this leadership community is amazing! Thank you for your post. Steve Leurquin

4 12 2011
Greg Streuly

Wow…..just, wow! Being a major movie fan, there are certain films that just light a fire in a guy. Gladiator and Rocky Balboa were both films that fired me up and had me in tears. I had forgotten Rocky’s speech to his son, and how much that now applies to what we’re doing. Take the hits, get up, and moving forward!
Thanks for posting that Steve. I needed that.

4 12 2011
steveleurquin1

Greg,
I may have met my match on being a movie buff! The elephant really gets charging when one watches that short clip. Thanks for your post.
Steve Leurquin

4 12 2011
adamrossman

I’ve just started to realize recently that Launching a Leadership Revolution by Orrin & Chris is not only one of the best leadership books ever written, but also that it is more like a leadership instruction manual that should be referenced over and over and over again. I’ve starting carrying my copy around with me a lot more lately. There are so many treasures in that book! I’ve read it 4 times and still have more to glean from it!!

4 12 2011
steveleurquin1

Adam,
Orrin Woodward’s book is amazing. Every time I need to do a talk I turn to the “instruction manual” as you call it. We as a group of leaders are going to read it again. 5 Times?
Steve Leurquin

3 12 2011
Ami

That video says alot in a few short minutes. Level 3 is huge for me. Having children that I know are looking to us for guidance in everything. My guidance first comes my Savior. Trying to live out his will for my life. In return leaving a purpose for my children. Living by example and always, forever, striving to get better, not to settle! Through Team/Life, meeting people who have impacted me and forver my life, to earn their respect…BIG. To be blessed and to bless others, to me its full circle. “My brothers, what we do in life, echoes in eternity!” Thats the truth!!
Thank You!

4 12 2011
steveleurquin1

Ami,
Thanks for your post. Once the three get lined up, everything seems to fall into place.
Steve

Leave a Reply

