Get In The Ring (of LIFE)

12 09 2011

I appreciate Orrin & Laurie Woodward so much for their character and integrity as leaders of Team.  When I was younger playing sports I remember a time I made a mistake and scored a goal for the other team.  Some kids my age were standing on the sidelines making fun of my misfortune.  When I addressed them and told them to “Get in the Ring”, they cowered as they were perfectly happy criticizing from the sidelines.  

As I advance in my years I have learned that critics never go away.  What I appreciated about the kids on the sidelines who were critics of me is they were 10’s on the bravery scale of cowards because, not willing to strive for something themselves, at least I new who they were.  Nowadays with growing technology it is much easier for people to not get off the couch to do something meaningful in life while taking sheepish anonymous pot shots at the people who are out in this world making a difference.    

 Orrin Woodward, Chris Brady and the rest of the founders of LIFE, I read this piece from a talk by Theodore Roosevelt and I am posting as a way to say thanks for having the courage to Get In The Ring!

Enjoy,  Steve

 

THE MAN IN THE ARENA

          -Theodore Roosevelt

It is not the critic who counts; not the man who points out how the strong man stumbles, or where the doer of deeds could have done them better. The credit belongs to the man who is actually in the arena, whose face is marred by dust and sweat and blood; who strives valiantly; who errs, who comes short again and again, because there is no effort without error and shortcoming; but who does actually strive to do the deeds; who knows great enthusiasms, the great devotions; who spends himself in a worthy cause; who at the best knows in the end the triumph of high achievement, and who at the worst, if he fails, at least fails while daring greatly, so that his place shall never be with those cold and timid souls who neither know victory nor defeat. 


Actions

Information

12 responses

26 07 2012
Motivation For Pushing Forward « Steve Leurquin Excellence in Living

[…] Enjoy, Steve Leurquin […]

19 09 2011
Gary Severson

Steve, This article really hits close to home for me for sure. Because you were willing to be transparent about yourself and share stories like this about your life with me a few short years ago, it’s helped me overcome many false beliefs that were implanted in me as well. Through your example of humility and mentorship and leading me to truth through a great leadership educational source, I’ve learned that the critics are your best indicator as to whether or not you’re doing something significant with your life and doing something that most of society doesn’t have the courage to do…..make character your foundation and LEAD!!!! I too appreciate the likes of people like Orrin and Laurie Woodward, Chris and Terri Brady, George and Jill Guzzardo ( I could go on and on) because not only do they teach character based leadership, they LIVE it as well……….. Thank you for being that friend and leader that I’ve always prayed you would be! ~ Gary

19 09 2011
steveleurquin1

Gary,
Thank you for your post. True friendship is such a great treasure in life and it is best brought out in a like-minded community of friends. Check out Orrin Woodward’s latest post about friendship on his leadership blog.
Steve

19 09 2011
Greg Streuly

Awesome quote! I have this posted on my desk and on the door to my office. Too often I see students who are afraid to strive for success because they have failed in the past. They know the misery of trying hard and failing, so they choose not to try. This “Get In The Ring” mentality is something I feel we have lost in our schools, and are just now realizing it. Striving hard and failing can offer just as much learning as an easy-A can!
Thank-you for being the example of not only getting in the ring, but also for STAYING in the ring.

Best Regards,
Greg Streuly

15 09 2011
Kristen Seidl

Love this Steve! It also made me think of the verse from 2 Corinthians 8:20-21 “We want to avoid any criticism of the way we administer this liberal gift. For we are taking pains to do what is right, not only in the eyes of the Lord but also in the eyes of men.” Great post, you and Jamie are leading by example!

Kristen

13 09 2011
Jammie

I love it! I pray that people will realize that critics have value in that they challenge and inspire those who are willing to get in the ring to keep up the fight. I’m glad for the ease of knowing who is in the battle with us and who is not, and understanding that there are other battles to fight, as well.

And of course, there are those not willing to fight, settling in for success at whatever level they choose rather than pursuing significance. If they choose to be a critic or if they remain silent-long term there will only be silence because those who were meant for the ring will always continue on!

Thanks for your words!

Jammie

12 09 2011
Lori Platt

This is amazing. I ran into the contents of my dad’s office that he moved out of over 13 years ago. He had this poem framed and on display. It’s in my office now.

13 09 2011
steveleurquin1

Lori,
It is a inspirational piece to read. Thank you for your thoughts.
Steve

12 09 2011
Gloria Fruit

I couldn’t agree with you more Steve and Penny. The courage of all you leaders of TEAM is making history. I’m proud to be in the fight with you.

13 09 2011
steveleurquin1

Gloria,
Thank you for courage and service to others.
Steve

12 09 2011
johngraff01

Thank you Steve for this post. I know everyone who has ever tried to succeed at something has there own story or two of someone taking jabs at them. We are so proud to be in this battle with so many champions that have gotten in the Ring of LIFE and are willing to take the punches and stand up with courage and fight the fight for future generations. The nameless, faceless, critics will not succeed in this arena. For this is our TIME (our finest hour)
Living Intentionally For Excellence
God Bless
Penny Graff

13 09 2011
steveleurquin1

Thank you Penny.
Steve

Leave a Reply

