What’s Fun Got to Do With It?

24 08 2011

“Everybody have Fun tonight”; “Fun, Fun, Fun”; “Girls just want to have fun”; there are an abundance of songs that tickle our senses of the never ending pursuit of fun.  You can probably reply with numerous songs that have the word fun it them.  As I listen to songs like these I can’t help but think, what is fun?

As a child everything was fun.  No matter where we were and what we were doing our innocent imaginations could take us to a place where we lived life with smiles on our faces.  We couldn’t help but be happy.  As a child and for the few lucky ones into adolescence, we lived in a place where dreams really do come true.

Then, that fateful day hits.  The day when your silliness and fun for life gets looked at by society as being uncool.  “Grow up” “get real” the committee called they says.  At what age does the teenager turn in their adventure for playing night games for drinking games?  When do we stop striving for our own fun adventures of mountains to climb, victories to achieve, and bad guys to slay for comfort of the sofa watching other’s victories in movies, video games, or sports arenas?

Webster defines fun as, “What provides amusement or enjoyment.”  So one man’s fun might be another man’s nails on the chalkboard.  Even with this definition, I can’t help but think about our need for true fun in our country today.  With depression, suicide, and loss of purpose at an all-time high today, now more than ever people are looking for a true sense of fun and adventure.

There is a great void being filled by LIFE and Team founder Orrin Woodward.  Several years ago as I was introduced to this leadership development organization and it was the breath of fresh air I was long looking for in my life.  An adventurous, fun loving person by nature my life was turning into working for the weekend only to be disappointed by lack of substance it brought me.  I was amazed at how much fun I could have with such a great group of creative, curagious people without preparing myself with “liquid courage.”  Not since my childhood have I had so much true fun laughing until my sides hurt while running after goals and dreams.

In The Ultimate Gift by Jim Stovall he writes, “Laughter (fun) is good medicine for the soul. Our world is desperately in need of more medicine.”  LIFE will be launched on 11-1-11.  Let the medicine (fun) begin.

God Bless, Steve

Let me here about the most fun you’ve had in a positive environment!

I’ll start:  One of the best times I had building communities of leaders was when we had blind canoe racing.  LIFE founder Dan Hawkins was in the middle of the canoe and was the eyes and voice of the trio.  Fellow teammate Corey Clark and I were in the front and back of the canoe and we were both blindfolded.  The trick is, the blinded folded guys were the ones with the paddles.  At go we raced another trio with the same restrictions.  We and people on the shore were in a gut rolling laughter as we were in the cattails.  The canoe we were racing had the “sight” leader get so frustrated at her “blind” teammates that she jumped out of the canoe to pull it to victory.

Good times!  Let me here yours.


Actions

Information

18 responses

2 09 2011
Ken Sabien

Hey Steve. I love being around you and your wife and hearing what you both have to say. I can’t help but tear up knowing that I’m apart of team and having friend’s like the two of you. My moment was when I was at summer camp with my old boy scout troop in upper Michigan. There was about 3 or 4 of us on the boat dock and our friend bent down to see what the other one was doing and just went head first rolling into the water. The face he had when he stood up in the water was priceless. Thank’s Steve.

30 08 2011
Matt Mielke

Fired up Steve! One of my funnest (is that a word?) moments with the team was outside paintball. It was so much fun to have my 11 year old at the time join all of us crazy people in camo. The age range was 11 to 60’s and we had a blast. I even separated my shoulder army crawling – what’s up with that? It’s one thing if you jumped on me and hit my shoulder with the butt of your gun, but nope, I was just crawling and out it went. Later that day I was moving behind the lines of my enemy going in for the kill, perfect move by my standards, and from a bush behind me was a woman, we’ll call her Sara to protect the innocent, shot me multiple times in the back. If you knew Sara, she is the sweetest, most gentle woman (off the battlefield that is). But that day, her eyes were wild like the beast. She had a war cry that made the Plains Indians scatter like mice. I think she even tried to stab me like she had a bayonet and it took 2 or 3 people to pull her off me – I think. At least that’s how I remember it and I’m writing the post. Seriously though, the last 5 years of involvement with the Team has been a blast, hard work, but a blast. Thanks for your post Steve.

Matt

30 08 2011
steveleurquin1

Matt,
We make up words all the time! Thank you for your response. That does sound like fun. It’s awesome that we can include our kids in the multiple fun times we have had with the Team. The next time I play paintball I sure hope “Sara” is on my team.
Steve

29 08 2011
johngraff01

John & Penny Graff
Well written, young man. I love the way you flesh out your perspective on things.
Regarding fun; where do we begin!!! How ’bout walking out of work for the last time – greeted by a small army of new found friends and loved ones. Then heading up to men’s leadership in a “limo-bus” with some of the greatest men I know. Or how ’bout the time out in Utah, on a free trip, when you redefined how to play mini golf, and darn near killed me in the process! Thank goodness for my “cat like” reflexes. Or how ’bout the 4 of us, along with other Team leaders, hopping in a hot spring in a crater, only to find out afterwards that there were high levels of carcinagens (sp) in the water. I laughed so hard when you read the warning sign and said ” That’s great information that I could have used… AN HOUR AGO!!!!”. What we’ve learned, is that it’s hard NOT to have fun hanging around a bunch of great people with a vision for a better life.
God bless, J n P

29 08 2011
steveleurquin1

It seems as if you get around people with vision new memories are created every time as apposed to only one glory day memory that gets rehashed every time. Thank you for the memories and milestones yet to come John and Penny.
Steve

29 08 2011
Lori Maas

Steve . . . Wow!! Awesome post!! Hummm, the most fun I’ve had in a positive environment? Well of course the environment would be something within the team LIFE community! I could share of the times we spent at the home of Orrin and Laurie Woodward watching movies, making ice cream sundaes and riding on the rover through their property. Or rock climbing in Arizona with George and Jill Guzzardo! Or the time many of us played lazor tag with Orrin and Laurie Woodward. Or the time we played paint ball and I got slaughtered by Matt Mielke . . . okay that part wasn’t that fun!  Oh there are so very many to choose from! I think the one that pops into my head first would be traveling home from a major convention a few years ago with team mates. Every time we travel to and from a major is an amazing adventure, but this particular time we were telling stories and laughing so hard my stomach hurt and I was crying! Just that freedom to have open honest silliness and know you are not being judged or thought to be foolish for having fun and enjoying one another’s company. Like you said, so many of us lose that freedom as an adult. Some try to find it again, however the only places many know to look for it is in adult beverages, or negative environments and in other forms of counterfeit or manufactured fun. In the LIFE community, we find good, clean honest fun. For ourselves and our families. Thanks for the post Steve!! Thanks for the memories. We look forward to creating many more fun memories with you and Jamie and the Team LIFE community.
Lori

29 08 2011
steveleurquin1

Wow Lori! I could copy and past your response as a blog post in itself. Thank you for all that you add to this Team culture. Today is my first “official” free day and I know you will have a freedom day in your family soon as well.
Steve

28 08 2011
Kevin Hamm

Steve,

I am having a lot of fun watching this team become a true machine in leadership development. The organization has certainly turned out some public speakers in the past, but blogging is certainly going to make us all shine in writing as well. Look out world, here comes LIFE and excellence will be had by all who desire it. Thanks for all you do.

Kevin Hamm

29 08 2011
steveleurquin1

Thanks Kevin the machine is just beginning! From your short response it sounds as if you have a pretty good writing background yourself.
Steve

28 08 2011
Angie Johnson

Amazing Job steve i already love your blog the most fun i had i would have to say was yesterday getting and wet and sandy playing with a few little girls making sand castles. and i normally dislike messes but yesterday it didnt care because the looks on the girls faces were priceless and listening to them giggle as im getting all sandy and wet.

26 08 2011
Kelly

Hey Steve!

Amazing blog! You are so talented and we are blessed to call you and Jamie friends! I agree with Emily…thank you for always getting back up. Your example, especially as a fellow teacher, has opened my eyes wider and has made me dream harder! Thanks! Enough seriousness, on to FUN….

First (of many fond memories): When we went to the U.P. for the promotion at Guzzardos, Shannon and I had the good fortune to take your kids on a hike with us. It was so fun watching them explore and get excited about the little things in life. (“As a child everything was fun. No matter where we were and what we were doing our innocent imaginations could take us to a place where we lived life with smiles on our faces.”) Their faces were so cute when they saw the waterfall and when we asked them to take a picture of us. They were a blast! Also, that same trip…it was hilarious watching all you guys try to stand on the log in Lake Superior.

Much love and God’s blessings,
Kelly

26 08 2011
Mike and Emily Hebbe

Hey S, Great Blog dude you so rock!!!! I knew you could make us all feel like champions and like kids when we get around you but now we get it when we read your bog!! SWEET! I do have to agree with Kelli though on the fun factor. Watching bodies fly in the air on that sleding hill was amazing, I have actually not been cold AND having fun in a really really long time!!! But also totally agree with Adam, I remember a time when Mike and I were first dating and we would have so much fun doing almost nothing. We would go fishing and not tell anyone or go for walks and it almost seemed like life was more simple. I dream almost all the time of having those times back. Knowing that we are in the right place at the right time and most of all with the right peps (you guys)! Those moments of are so close!!! Thank you for always believing in Mike and I, thank you for always getting back up when you were in a struggle but most of all thank you for struggleing long enough to share a victory with all of us!!!

Gods blessing to you and your beautiful family, E

25 08 2011
adamrossman

For me – Fun and Freedom are very closely tied to each other. When Teesa and I were dating and when we were newlyweds it felt like we had almost all the time in the world to spend together. Some of the most fun times I’ve ever had were with her. We used to go into Chicago and walk through Lincoln Park Zoo and over to North Avenue Beach. Having our whole day together with no itinerary and no time that we had to get back home. Life with her has been A LOT of fun!!!

25 08 2011
steveleurquin1

With Freedom comes much more Fun Adam and I can not wait for your freedom day!
Steve

25 08 2011
Kelli Sager

Fun . Fun is going somewhere in Wisconson ( God knows where , we’re from Illinios , don’t hold that against us ) in the middle of winter , going sledding , wearing 5 layers of clothes , with people you respect and look up to , having a 25 plus chain of people holding hands going down the hill at the same time . People running into each other , running their kids over , almost colliding with cars & rivers ! The best part ? Watching our mentor ( i wounder who ) going down the same hill in a kayak , in the snow ! Now that’s fun !!!!

25 08 2011
steveleurquin1

Hey! If someone brings a kayak to a sledding hill, I’m going down on it in heartbeat!
Steve

25 08 2011
Jammie

This is an AWESOME article Steve. I couldn’t agree more with the points you make, and to my surprise, the amount of fun I have had being a part of Team! It was the farthest thing from what we had done for amusement previous in our lives.

One of the things we really enjoyed was at a convention when we were all at the pool doing canon ball contests and lungbusters. The blind-folded canoe race was a blast, too.

What I think makes the fun even better is that it is pure-so you know it, and the friendships that develop around it are real.

25 08 2011
steveleurquin1

It is so hard to write about one of the F’s without going into all of them. There is just something special about a good cannonball!
Steve

Leave a Reply

