Living a LIFE called to live.

20 08 2011

Several years ago I was living what I thought was the American dream.  I graduated from college with a BS degree, married with one child, had a job as a teacher, and “owned” my own house.  What more could I want?  With every night coming to a close I would lay awake in bed with the recurring thought that there  had to be more to life than the daily grind of working for one more unfulfilled weekend after another.

On a night that seemed like most others my wife and I were introduced to TEAM through co-founder of LIFE Dan Hawkins.  I didn’t know it at the time, but the leadership journey I was about to embark on, was the one for helping this world I was long searching for.  Like a lion chasing a gazel I needed an adventure to chase that was long surpressed by a culture that no longer encourages a man to be a man.

Jamie and I began a journey to make a difference in this world by changing culture but we found the biggest thing we had to change was ourselves.  Through LIFE we began to balance our lives through continuous improvement in eight areas (8 F’s).   I can not begin to tell you all of the victories, public and private, my family has had because of the couragous men and women like Orrin and Laurie Woodward and Chris and Terry Brady bringing a leadership development program to average people like us.

St. Francis of Assisi says “Preach (Christ) at all times and when necessary use words.”  The Team has built a community of people that lead by being the example.  This example is helping family after family put an end to generations of negative habits that have torn families apart.  The ripple affect of change is creating a new generation of leaders starting with our children that is going to bring our country back to principles it was founded on.

One of my favorite quotes is by Billy Grahm, “When a brave man takes a stand, the spines of others are often stiffened.”  Thank you Team for being the change needed in this world.

God Bless, Steve

Actions

Information

15 responses

26 08 2011
Gary Severson

Steve, I’ve been on this journey with you for a few years now and it’s very humbling to watch your level of leadership skyrocket. Your drive towards excellence and your cross-centered, purpose driven example has been such an inspiration to me. I’m proud to be your friend, student and running mate as this community of champions known as TEAM takes the education industry by storm and brings back the foundational principles that made America so great. ~ Gary S. 1Corinthians 12:11

24 08 2011
Jeff Stockhausen

Hi Steve and Jamie,

Even though I have only know you guys for less than 2 years, I consider you close friends. Always there with a smile, a word of encouragement and a true servant leadershipship heart. I am so excited to be on this journey with you guys, learning and growing by honoring God and sharing the good news. Meeting people where they are at. Thank you!

24 08 2011
steveleurquin1

Thanks Jeff. We are proud to be on this journey with you and it has only just begun!
Steve

23 08 2011
Kayla Krumm

Mr Leurquin,

It is so neat to see a teacher become an even bigger teacher with teaching the things that Americans need to hear. The whole world for that matter needs to hear all the wonderful teaching you have to offer. I am so proud to be part of your TEAM and how neat it is to see the growth in you. I can’t wait for years to come and all the blessings that you will make in peoples lives. Thank you so much for everything you have done for Bob and I in the last couple of years.

24 08 2011
steveleurquin1

Kayla,
Thank you for your kind words. It’s time for us all to become teachers on a bigger stage.
Steve

23 08 2011
Matt Mielke

Steve, very proud of you and Jamie. I am blessed to be on the same team as you and I thank God for the gift of your friendship. Great post and thanks for your example of a spine that has stiffened for the right reason. Not out of stubbornness, but out of principle. i look forward to many more posts coming from Steve Leurquin excellence for living.

God bless,

Matt Mielke

23 08 2011
Bobbie

Steve,
Awesome blog! You’re great at puting your thoughts on paper! Just wanted to say thanks again to you and Jamie for having the spine to change my family’s life, so that we may help other families’ to live intentionally for excellence!

One More Round!

23 08 2011
steveleurquin1

Thanks Bobbie. I didn’t hear no bell!

23 08 2011
johngraff01

Steve,
I am here with my grandaughter, Autumn .We were discussing what wonderful people/leaders that you and Jamie have become. You have helped us and lead us into a bright new future. Penny and I are so proud to be in this battle with you.
love, j and p graff
TEAM PHOENIX-ON FIRE

23 08 2011
steveleurquin1

John, Thanks for your great leadership teaching the next generations about LIFE.
Steve

22 08 2011
Larry Wieberdink

Thanks for the challenging post Steve!!

We look up to you as one of the torch bearers. Great job on the stage and now in print. Oh that more of us could grow a spine and leave our shoes on the mat.

Keep up the great work,

Larry Wieberdink
Stealth Red Eagles

22 08 2011
Kristen Seidl

Great post Steve, you are leading by example in every way!

21 08 2011
Keith Wrage Jr

Thanks for being one of the point men on the TEAM leading the way for many individuals and families to succeed in LIFE and the 8 F’s!

21 08 2011
Steve Buckau

Great post Steve. Thank you for your inspiration and leadership. Along with the amazing leadership of Orrin Woodward, Dan Hawkins and the rest of the policy council and the many many other wonderful leaders on the TEAM.

God Bless,
Steve Buckau

21 08 2011
adamrossman

What a great post! Its hard for me to decide which is better – your writing or your speaking. I do know that I can say that I’m very much looking more to checking out more of both.

Thank you for helping to stiffen my spine and the spines of some of my very good friends as well! You are a man that is helping many other men in this world to be the men they need to be. I am so grateful for that!

Leave a Reply

